Real or Spoof - You Decide - Google TV *UPDATED SUN AM*

Comments
Forward
AddThis

 Updated: YouTube should pay Mark Erickson »

GoogleGoogle Blogoscoped posted a video today showing a demo of Google TV. Most are calling it a hoax. The video by a "Mark Erickson" of "Infinite Solutions" television show. The videos are great. I posted a couple below including the Google TV video. He suggests that Google has hidden an invite to Google TV inside Gmail. Basically if you do what he says, I am guessing people will send millions of emails to themselves. This might be one of the best hoax'es I have seen in a long time. The video has such a PBS feeling to it making it more believable.

Here is his video about Google TV:

 

Mark has made a followup video to prove this is not a hoax:

another guy confirms it

AddThis
Comments - Add New CommentComment Now
It may take up to five minutes for your comment to appear
Submitted by shaxs on January 28, 2007 - 5:26am.

I'm voting for fake. That music gives it away. You know what it reminds me of? The 'commercials' or whatever is playing on the tv's as you wait to board Star Tours at Disney Land ;)

Submitted by Anonymous on January 28, 2007 - 10:47am.

Not sure.. did you see the updated video?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7MulSMSJV-U

Submitted by centernetworks on January 28, 2007 - 11:35am.

thanks anonymous!wow - if this is fake, its the best damn fake ever!

Submitted by Kevin F on January 28, 2007 - 1:15pm.

You should check out this guys other videos on Youtube...funny stuff.

Submitted by centernetworks on January 28, 2007 - 5:38pm.

i bought a salad bowl today to make the wifi dealy  

Submitted by AdamJacobMuller on January 28, 2007 - 9:39pm.

the video clearly shows that the site is located at tv.google.com, however tv.google.com does not exist in dns, if the service did exist at the very least there would be a DNS entry for it.
I will concede that its of course possible that google has pulled the site. Before people ask, it would be virtually impossible (nearly for something deployed in this manner) to segment dns (return NXDOMAIN to us and a real IP for registered users).

-Adam

Submitted by Anonymous on February 11, 2007 - 2:32am.

change hosts file would work

Submitted by Sunny on January 29, 2007 - 3:01am.

keeps renewing www.googletv.com

If Google TV is a hoax, THEN WHY DOES GOOGLE OWNS www.GOOGLETV.COM

Domain Name: GOOGLETV.COM
Registrar: EMARKMONITOR INC. DBA MARKMONITOR
Name Server: NS1.GOOGLE.COM
Name Server: NS2.GOOGLE.COM
Name Server: NS3.GOOGLE.COM
Name Server: NS4.GOOGLE.COM
Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Updated Date: 28-jan-2007
Creation Date: 01-mar-2000
Expiration Date: 01-mar-2008

Submitted by Drummer Man on January 29, 2007 - 3:10pm.

For the dude who is using the domain name ownership as proof. Don't you think that google is smart enough to have possession of every single domain that contains the word 'google'? It's kinda obvious that even if the whole google tv thing is a hoax, that google would still want to own 'www.googletv.com'.

Submitted by Anonymous on January 30, 2007 - 4:30pm.

Do you think this works for Hosted Gmail as well?

Submitted by hx10 on January 30, 2007 - 10:49pm.

Obviously a fake, the google mail image is one individual image, tv.google.com is a non-existent domain and so is googletv.com. But still google should implement this feature; I would imagine who-ever did it was running a fake DNS on their own network, which redirected the domain to a local server. Either all the above is correct, or google has removed all evidence of this.

Submitted by Cindreta on January 31, 2007 - 7:15am.

the domain is registred. here is a image that proves that,sorry it's on croatian but the main point is that it is registred,.com,.net every single on of them:

http://www.imput.net/preglednik.php?file=/slike/x0U41982.jpg

Submitted by Anonymous on February 5, 2007 - 11:06pm.

It works!! Just follow what it says, it took me 51 logins for it to work.

Submitted by fusion on February 12, 2007 - 2:32am.
Subject: heh

51 times? don't tell me you were counting them!!

Anyway... this Mark is a GENIUS... notice how all the tech news websites are blogging about him... keep it up!

Submitted by DngloZ on May 16, 2007 - 5:37pm.

Yep, i've been seeing him around on blogs too lately, a real genius

Submitted by Anonymous on February 16, 2007 - 3:44pm.

JAJAJAJ !!! Wath a fake.

Submitted by Anonymous on February 25, 2007 - 6:22pm.

the 3rd video doesent prove a thing. if you look well you can see that his user name is gary castle, and if you go the the other 2 videos you see his name on the ccredits. so dont buy that video, hes just working with mark and trying to help him out.

Submitted by Chris24 on May 27, 2007 - 1:54am.

I noticed he said he got an ATI ad because of his email having Tech terms, when quite honestly, that is not his email. It just had Welcome to Gmail in it, and who would put their ACTUAL email in a video that could get popular?

Also,

Why are people "lying" saying it worked????

Submitted by Anonymous on October 6, 2007 - 2:18am.
Subject: Fatal Farmers

These guys did some great work together on fatalfarm.com

The guy who confirmed is in the HOME IMPROVEMENT intro spoof.

Mark Erickson is hilarious in the DOOGIE HOWSER, M.D. intro spoof.

These guys are having a great time at everyone's expense. Genius! Andy Kaufman would be proud. Internet w/a flavor of Borat.



ScribeFire
Clicky Web Analytics

Our Partners

cmplt

OrganicStats
read centernetworks anywhere!
© 1999-2008 CenterNetworks
Home | News | Reviews | Insights | Interviews | Web Jobs | Press Releases | Startup Tips